Spoken Word for Poetry Friday

Poetry Friday, a linkup which I’m hosting today, is here to kick my blogging butt. This is my first post all month! Can you tell I’ve been busy? My new job is great but also non-stop so when I get home I don’t really want to be on the computer.

It turns out to be a great week for me to host Poetry Friday because in my role as an education reporter, I just attended a youth poetry slam at a local afterschool program. I witnessed some awesomely talented Lancaster city kids laying down rhymes about serious topics like imperfection and imperfection, and silly ones, too, like a poem about drinking too much tea before swimming. The latter one cleverly ended with the line, “Now the pool is just an ‘ool’ because I took a pee.”

Eighth grader Ayleene Martinez won the slam with poems about her generation and dreams.

Poetry Slam at The Mix

The slam was part of a spoken word program called “We Rock the Mic” at The Mix at Arbor Place. I had visited one of their classes last week to learn about it and interview some students ahead of the slam. I also wound up sharing a poem of my own with them, and got asked to do it again today. It was scary for me, so I know it took a lot of courage for the kids to do it in front of their own peers.

In honor of those kids, the poem I’m sharing for Poetry Friday is a spoken word piece, “Knock Knock” by Daniel Beaty. I learned about this poem when I read the picture book version of it last November. Bryan Collier won the Coretta Scott King Illustration Award for the book, and I reviewed it for my newspaper last month.

Now it’s your turn! What poem are you sharing with us this week? Click on the frog’s face to add your link.

26 Responses to “Spoken Word for Poetry Friday”


  1. 1 Laura Shovan March 13, 2014 at 8:23 pm

    Hi, Kara! Congratulations on the new job. I used to be a freelance education reporter for a local Baltimore Sun bureau. What a great way to talk with kids, educators, and share some positive news. Good luck!

    In addition to a wonderful guest post by Poetry Friday regular Toby Speed (on inspiration), I’m announcing my National Poetry Month project today. Details on how to sign up to guest post are there for all to see.

    http://authoramok.blogspot.com/2014/03/poetry-friday-finding-inspiration-with.html

  2. 2 Michelle Heidenrich Barnes March 13, 2014 at 8:30 pm

    I’ve seen this video before– so powerful! Worth watching over and over and over again. There’s nothing like a poetry slam to give you faith that our future is in good hands. Thanks for hosting today, Kara!

  3. 3 jama March 13, 2014 at 8:30 pm

    Hi Kara,

    Nice to meet you and visit your blog! What an interesting background you have. I love Beaty’s “Knock Knock” and it was fun hearing about the poetry slam.

    For Poetry Friday, I’m featuring 3 poems from a brand new humorous dog poetry book by Jessica Swaim, easily the funniest parodies of classic poems I’ve ever read. Just brilliant! My link will go live at 6 a.m. EDT.

    Thanks for hosting this week :).

  4. 4 Robyn Hood Black March 13, 2014 at 9:17 pm

    Thanks for hosting this week, Kara, and for the great links! (& such a powerful poem and performance.) My blog is spring breaking with our college students this week, but I’ll be back with bells on and the Student Haiku Poet of the Month next week.

  5. 5 mattforrest March 13, 2014 at 10:07 pm

    What a powerful poem and performance! Thanks for sharing, Kara – and for hosting today! My link (http://wp.me/p2DEY3-Vd) doesn’t go live til just after midnight, EDST.

  6. 6 Amy Ludwig VanDerwater March 13, 2014 at 11:55 pm

    “We Rock the Mic” sounds like a wonderful event, and you’re brave and smart to share your own work with those student poets. All are changed in moments of such sharing. Thank you so much for hosting today. Best to you in your new job! a.

  7. 7 Linda Baie March 14, 2014 at 12:04 am

    Thanks for hosting Kari. I’m doing a spoken word piece with students right now & your link will be wonderful to share. It’s awesome. I’ve read the book which is wonderful, too. Have a wonderful day!

  8. 8 Wilcox Carol March 14, 2014 at 7:02 am

    Thanks for hosting. I love KNOCK KNOCK, even though it makes me cry every time. I’m double dipping today, using my post, a draft of an original poem, which might work after I mess with it a little more, as both my Slice of Life and my Poetry Friday entry.

    http://carolwscorner.blogspot.com/2014/03/slice-of-life-and-poetry-friday.html

  9. 9 Becky Shillington March 14, 2014 at 7:53 am

    Thanks for hosting PF today, Kara! Great post–I love hearing about poetry slams!

  10. 11 Karen Edmisten March 14, 2014 at 9:30 am

    Thanks for hosting! Can’t wait to dig further into your blog. Great stuff!

  11. 12 Betsy @ BPhotoArt.com March 14, 2014 at 10:21 am

    How wonderful to share with and inspire the next generation of creative minds! :) I always leave events like this inspired.

  12. 13 Fats Suela March 14, 2014 at 11:25 am

    Hi Kara! Thank you for taking time and hosting Poetry Friday! I discovered slam poetry after watching Sarah and Phil Kaye’s “When Love Arrives.” I haven’t actually listened to others, so thank you for sharing all these today. I’m featuring one of Ntozake Shange’s poems at GatheringBooks! Have a wonderful, stress-free day!! =)

  13. 14 Charles Waters March 14, 2014 at 11:50 am

    What a poem video! Ultimately, that’s what it’s all about. Thanks for hosting. Continued success in all that you do.

    http://www.charleswaterspoetry.com/#!POETRY-TIME-BLOG-4/c23vc/2964729C-0AA8-48F3-91F7-595478641808

  14. 15 The Mix at Arbor Place March 14, 2014 at 11:54 am

    Thanks so much for sharing about our ‘We Rock the Mic’ program! It was a blast and we are so glad that you were able to be a part of it.

    For anyone interested, ‘We Rock the Mic’ has a page on our website where you can follow up to date performances.

    http://arborplace.org/After-School-Program/Performing-Arts/We-Rock-The-Mic/

  15. 16 Divina March 14, 2014 at 1:46 pm

    Hi Kara! This is only the second time that I have participated in Poetry Friday. Would you (or someone) kindly advise me of proper adherence of copyright etiquette? I don’t know where or how to find poetry that I can link to, so I published to whole poem on my blog. Thanks!

  16. 17 macrush53 March 14, 2014 at 1:49 pm

    Thank you for hosting. And congrats on your new job.

  17. 18 Tabatha March 14, 2014 at 1:53 pm

    Hey Kara! Just wanted to say thanks for hosting! :-)

  18. 19 jeannineatkins March 14, 2014 at 5:47 pm

    Thank you for hosting and introducing us to “We Rock the Mic!”

  19. 20 haitiruth March 14, 2014 at 9:07 pm

    Thank you for hosting!

  20. 21 Cathy March 14, 2014 at 9:08 pm

    I love Knock, Knock. I just learned of the video while listening to Bryan Collier speak. Powerful!

    Better late than never, I’m adding an original poem:

    Which Sky?

    http://merelydaybyday.blogspot.com/2014/03/slice-of-life-which-sky-14-of-31.html

    Thanks for hosting!


  1. 1 Poetry Friday: A haiku kind of day | Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme Trackback on March 13, 2014 at 11:02 pm
  2. 2 friday feast: the biting humor of why do i chase thee by jessica swaim and chet phillips | Jama's Alphabet Soup Trackback on March 14, 2014 at 5:01 am
  3. 3 On the Bright Side Trackback on March 14, 2014 at 5:52 am
  4. 4 SOLC 2014: March Haiku | Reading to the Core Trackback on March 14, 2014 at 6:05 am
  5. 5 Poetry and Science for Children | Views from a Window Seat Trackback on March 14, 2014 at 8:01 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 143 other followers

rogue flickr

Cafe Loveless

Mammoth Cave

Loveless Cafe

More Photos

rogue tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

