Slice of Life: Preparing for Takeoff

Slice of Life

On Tuesdays, bloggers share a “slice of life” and post the link at Two Writing Teachers. I wrote this slice of life post in mid-air.

On my flight to New Orleans, that is.

Early morning flights go like this:

I get on board.

I write a little till I feel it’s too close to take-off. (I’m not scared of flying but the anticipation makes it hard to focus on writing.)

I stow my journal and pen in the seat back pocket. I close my eyes and wait.

The plane starts to lumber/glide forward on its tiny wheels. It’s like the motion of a rolling suitcase over sidewalks cracks — but instead of dragging the luggage behind me, I’m inside it.

Somewhere between the initial movement, the plane’s nose lifting skyward, and our peak altitude, I fall asleep.

My nap lasts only 10 or 15 minutes every time, because sooner or later…

DING!

A speaker above my header broadcasts the announcement that we may now turn on our portable electronic devices.

I can’t fall back to sleep after this.

I’ve taken more than 30 flights in the past 7 years.

How have I not thought to bring earplugs before now?

Andrew saw me off on my first two solo flights. (Solo as in traveling alone, not piloting.) The first was to visit friends in England. The second, shown here, was to Egypt to study abroad in Cairo in winter/spring 2008.

Andrew saw me off on my first two solo flights. (Solo as in traveling alone, not piloting, of course.) The first trip was to visit friends in England. The second, shown here, was to Egypt to study abroad in Cairo in winter/spring 2008.

6 Responses to “Slice of Life: Preparing for Takeoff”


  1. 1 Dalton Sheets February 11, 2014 at 12:05 pm

    I liked this a lot! Cool perspective of flying in a plane. I have flown a few times, but definitely not thirty. Thanks for sharing.

  2. 3 Holly Mueller February 11, 2014 at 12:47 pm

    I’ll be flying on Thursday morning. I’ll be sure to bring earplugs and a journal/pen! :-)

  3. 5 Jackie Haworth Hoy February 11, 2014 at 1:41 pm

    I loved how you compared the take off with a rolling suitcase…but instead of pulling it you are inside. Next time I fly I will probably be thinking that now. Hope the earplugs work for you…or you get some noise reduction headphones….that is what I use anymore. Enjoy your travels! Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  4. 6 Haddon Musings February 11, 2014 at 1:47 pm

    The analogy of being the suitcase is great. Nice piece of writing.
    Bernadette


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 142 other followers

rogue flickr

Cafe Loveless

Mammoth Cave

Loveless Cafe

More Photos

rogue tweets

About Kara Newhouse

http://en.gravatar.com/rogueanthropologist#pic-1


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

