Characters along the way

I don’t have a great desire to be a novelist, but as I do my job as a small-town reporter I am building a brain bank of book-ready characters. I collect people’s idiosyncrasies and mannerisms in my mind like a button collector collects…well, buttons.

I also felt this way when I worked for my brother at the Georgia Renaissance Festival. Perhaps I should start a consulting business in which I share the characters I’ve met throughout the country/world with aspiring authors.

Marlene Carrier, a.k.a. The Button Lady

Marlene Carrier, age 78, introduced herself to me as “The Button Lady.” Her son, who is now 54, started collecting buttons when Barry Goldwater ran for president. Marlene starting making buttons when her friend Tom Ridge ran for Pennsylvania governor. She sells political buttons at fairs and Republican State Committee events. She’s even had some in the Smithsonian museum. “I’ve done it all in politics but this is the most fun,” Marlene told me. Photo taken at National Night Out in Duncannon, Aug. 2012.

 

6 Responses to “Characters along the way”


  1. 1 Molly Caldwell October 18, 2012 at 7:47 am

    Columbia has a whole cast of characters to offer…. :)

  2. 3 jlkuhns October 25, 2012 at 4:03 pm

    I wish I would have known this earlier!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 143 other followers

rogue flickr

Cafe Loveless

Mammoth Cave

Loveless Cafe

More Photos

rogue tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

