Autumn harvest photos

“You’re leaving bumble**** for Philly, and you’re going apple picking while you’re there?” One of my coworkers said last week in response to my weekend plans.

It’s true, I did leave a primarily agricultural county to go to a big city and made plans to go apple picking with friends. It’s also true that Perry County itself doesn’t have any pick-your-own apple orchards, and my fall schedule is quite busy so I thought this weekend that I had scheduled to spend with friends would be a good opportunity to enjoy the autumn harvest.

Golden Delicious

Golden Delicious apples

Linvilla Orchards includes apple picking as well as lots of kid-friendly fall activities, like hay rides and an animal area, so the place was swarming with families, young children and pregnant moms. Fortunately, one of my friends who came on the adventure is due to have a baby next month, so we had some prenatal legitimacy for our crew.

Becka

Becka found the largest Mutsu apples!

Tim and Kara

Me and AU pal Tim. Doesn’t his beard look great? It’s new!

After paying for our $30-worth of apples, we strolled through the farm market and sat at a picnic table to enjoy some apple cider donuts and apple cider (the beverage). What a perfect October morning!

One thing I didn’t tell my friends at the time was that the donuts were not nearly as good as the hot-off-the-donut-press ones I’d had with my mom a few weekends earlier in Lancaster County. Which goes to show—you can have a country experience just outside the city, but country cooking is best done where it belongs!

Kauffman's Fruit Farm and Market

Kauffman’s Fruit Farm and Market. Lancaster County, PA

Making cider donuts

A Mennonite woman making cider donuts. Lancaster County, PA

Fresh and delicious

Fresh, warm, and SO delicious!

Fall makes me especially grateful to live in a state with distinct seasons. Do you have fall where you live? What are your favorite autumn activities?

2 Responses to “Autumn harvest photos”


  1. 1 Molly Caldwell October 11, 2012 at 7:39 am

    Fall in Lancaster is a glorious time. I always love going to Cherry Hill Orchards for apples ($1/lb for delicious, unwaxed apples – can’t beat it!) I also love buying pumpkins, mums, and gourds, as well as seeing the leaves change. I love football – particularly high school football – and I always look forward to my favorite holiday, which is Halloween. I would wear a different costume every day if I could!

    • 2 RogueAnthropologist October 11, 2012 at 7:48 am

      Somehow I didn’t realize that mums were a fall thing till until a few weeks ago…not sure if I like them or not though.
      Also, I really wanted to go to a football game at one of the schools I cover but all of their home games have been on Fridays when I was already busy!
      What costume will you wear this year?


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 138 other followers

rogue flickr

Cafe Loveless

Mammoth Cave

Loveless Cafe

More Photos

rogue tweets

About Kara Newhouse

http://en.gravatar.com/rogueanthropologist#pic-1


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

