Something to aspire to

Landscapes have never been my top choice for photography subjects. Although I’ve seen many photo-worthy scenes in my travels near and far, I haven’t focused on building my skills to capture them as I see them.

For instance, the other day in Rebuck, PA I crouched low aiming to get a field of crops strongly in the foreground with the mountains gently rising in the background. I didn’t do that well with my goal:

Fields

My not-so-hot landscape shot. Rebuck, Northumberland County, PA. June 2012

But another photographer out standing in the field (haha) one county away succeeded at it in his photo:

Buffalo Valley (3)

“Buffalo Valley (3)” by Nicholas T. Lewis Township, Union County, PA

There was a time when seeing great images by other photographers made me envious. Now, looking at the improvements I’ve made in the past few years, I see these images as something to aspire to. To any photographers reading this post, please do share tips on landscape shots. Maybe one day I’ll be able to say I like taking landscape photos!

2 Responses to “Something to aspire to”


  1. 1 paindecompagne June 26, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    I’ve actually thought about this too. Landscapes usually suck unless they have similar elements to other good photographs — a focal point, lines, texture, etc. — in addition to stuff that’s just “pretty.” With landscapes, what’s “pretty” to the eye in real life barely translates well into a photograph without the above elements… thoughts? I think I’ve only ever taken one landscape shot that also constituted well as a good photograph.

    • 2 RogueAnthropologist June 28, 2012 at 6:17 pm

      Good point about needing to have the elements of good photography–a pretty landscape isn’t enough! I hadn’t been thinking of it that way. Part of what’s good about the other photographer’s shot above is that even though it doesn’t have actual lines, there’s a certain angle in both the field and clouds that draws you forward into the image.
      Hmm, this makes me think that doing some basic artistic critiques of good and bad landscape photos would help me a lot. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 142 other followers

rogue flickr

Cafe Loveless

Mammoth Cave

Loveless Cafe

More Photos

rogue tweets

About Kara Newhouse

http://en.gravatar.com/rogueanthropologist#pic-1


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

