Friday 5: Beverly Cleary Tribute

When I had short hair as a child I liked to imagine it was a “pixie haircut” like Ramona Quimby. Did you love Ramona and her friends as a young reader? Do you remember that they lived in Portland, Oregon, which was also the home of her creator, Beverly Cleary?

I didn’t remember that until my sister moved to Portland a few years ago. The classic image of Ramona in rain boots makes sense given what I now know about Northwestern weather! I visited my sister last week and found several signs of Portland’s Beverly Cleary pride.

Beverly Cleary School

Elementary/middle school named after Portland's beloved author, Beverly Cleary.

Henry Huggins statue

Henry Huggins statue; this character actually came before Ramona, who was a minor character in the Henry Huggins books.

Ribsy statue

Statue of Henry Huggins' dog, Ribsy, in the Beverly Cleary Sculpture Garden, Grant Park.

Klickitat Street

The street Ramona lived on!

Ramona Quimby statue

Ramona Quimby, age 8.

9 Responses to “Friday 5: Beverly Cleary Tribute”


  1. 1 Sarah M. February 10, 2012 at 9:16 am

    This is an awesome post! Do you know that I once wrote an essay on why Ramona Quimby was my hero? :) Great way to start Friday!

  2. 3 Molly Caldwell February 10, 2012 at 10:53 am

    You already know my feelings on Ramona Quimby…my absolute favorite books as a kid! (Some of my copies of those books are taped together from me reading them so often.) They were the first chapter books I ever read…

  3. 5 paindecompagne February 11, 2012 at 11:35 am

    I LOVED Beverly Cleary. I still use one of her tips to help with creative writing: read for 30 minutes beforehand. Great post!

    • 6 RogueAnthropologist February 11, 2012 at 1:04 pm

      Oh I never heard that tip. It’s a good one! Got any others? I want to try to do more creative writing, since I’ve been up to my waist in blog and news writing for the past few years.

  4. 7 Charu February 11, 2012 at 7:54 pm

    I just got the Ramona collection for Leila’s birthday!! :-) I love little kid books, but I’m delighted she’s getting more into books like these now (she’s almost 7). One of the best things about being a parent is getting to indulge daily in awesome children’s literature… We’re halfway through Haroun and the Sea of Stories right now and it’s fantastic.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 138 other followers

rogue flickr

Cafe Loveless

Mammoth Cave

Loveless Cafe

More Photos

rogue tweets

About Kara Newhouse

http://en.gravatar.com/rogueanthropologist#pic-1


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

