Rogue Blogging

I’ve been posting to this blog since I landed in Palestine early last year.* I’m often baffled by time, but the space between then and now seems particularly short for all of the life experiences it encompasses. I never had a particular vision for this blog, but it has certainly grown with me—sometimes reflecting my entrenchment in the spheres of journalism and politics, sometimes offering space to ponder my approach and effectiveness at teaching; other times documenting basic human observations, as anthropologists are wont to do. In recent months, the posts have meandered through differing terrains as I myself navigate a new life in Pennsylvania, the state where I grew up. More particularly, I recently moved to Wilkes-Barre, in Northeast PA (hereafter referred to as NEPA).

It’s a bit harder to write anthropologically when set in my own culture (perhaps I need to re-read Kirin Narayan’s famous article on native anthropology), especially since I’m not currently doing on-the-ground work in any field. Nevertheless, I’m excited that I’ve had more time to explore the virtual land of the blogosphere. I’m diving deeper into book blogs, and I’ve written a few of my own YA reviews for Canonball. This week I discovered a group called BAND, the Bloggers’ Alliance of Nonfiction Devotees, which hosts a monthly discussion relation to the nonfiction genre. I’ve decided to join their July discussion, led by Kim of Sophisticated Dorkiness. The question is “What’s your favorite type of nonfiction?”

Check back tomorrow for my response. There’s a surprise: my answer is not anthropology!

 

 

 

*Technically my first post was September 14, 2009, but I don’t know what it says since I edited it for a new beginning in February 2010.

1 Response to “Rogue Blogging”


  1. 1 Kim (Sophisticated Dorkiness) July 28, 2011 at 6:15 am

    I’m glad you’ve discovered us — I can’t wait to stop back and see what you’re planning to write about!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 142 other followers

rogue flickr

Cafe Loveless

Mammoth Cave

Loveless Cafe

More Photos

rogue tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

