Transcending Turning Points

Bedouin bracelet

Bedouin bracelet, Dahab, Egypt; June 2008

In a previous post I talked about turning points and how when I started college I didn’t feel I had significant life experiences that had re-directed my path. With all the unique experiences I’ve piled on in recent years, it’s pretty easy to craft narratives about how such-and-such experience shaped me in this way and another shaped me in that way. Those kind of narratives leave out a lot of details, though, and I think more than any one experience being totally transformative, my experiences build on each other. Some of them just propel me down a certain path more swiftly than others.
My semester in Egypt as an undergraduate is not something I talk about much these days. I had a relaxed summer job right after it, which allowed me to reflect and define my time in Cairo. If you asked me in the fall of 2008 about my semester abroad, I would’ve told you that I had learned much about patience, friendliness and openness. Today if you asked me I’d say that I took challenging and rewarding classes and had a lot of fun with my friends/roommates but that it was a much different way of experiencing a country than the way I try to do now. It doesn’t seem too significant to me now, given all that I’ve done in the meantime.
Yet, a few minutes ago while reading an old email where I confidently described what I’d taken away from my Egypt experience I felt envious of my former self who could sum it up so neatly.
I can’t do that about the past two years. What did it all mean? How did it shape me? Where does it lead? I don’t know. My mind is all a jumble of unusual shapes and unfamiliar colors—like a Dr. Suess book after a spin through the blender.
Maybe in a few years I’ll have a concise narrative to explain it all, but sometimes I appreciate unearthing memories that remind me that though “turning point” narratives emphasize events as the primary causes of what happens in our lives, there are also other factors. For instance, tonight I came across this part of a conversation I had while studying in Egypt:
5:27 PM: i wanna go everywhere.
  BUT
5:28 PM i get annoyed with the kids who are trying to travel to like every possible country while they’re here “so they can say they went there”
  i want to go everywhere to experience it
5:29 PM not to use it as a form of prestige
In that passage I can see a kernel for the way I chose to travel and live after graduating from college, but the feelings I described are not something I could fit into a “turning point” framework.
In a time of confusion about how my recent experiences have affected me, it’s re-assuring to remember that my path is also shaped by unnameable things within me that I carry throughout all experiences.
3 Responses to “Transcending Turning Points”


  1. 1 tuesday June 19, 2011 at 1:18 am

    I love the title of this post. For so many reasons, some of which you make clear in your blog, others that remain unsaid (how fitting). In recent years, I talk less and less about my “turning points”, less and less about “what I have learned” or “what I saw on the ground”, in fact, I am learning some stories are better left unshared. I am also learning, in recent years, that many of the most magnificent stories I have, those that teach me the most, happen closer to the home – away from the exotic, close to the mundane. A talk with my parents, a fight with a dear friend, a sadness, sharing a meal…blah blah blah. I blink…and my how much my direction has changed.

  2. 2 Chandrakala Geddapu June 19, 2011 at 1:50 am

    Interesting post as always!! And I compleltely identify with a lot of things from the problems with writing narratives to hating the cool dudes and dudettes who need to travel everywhere for the heck of it…

    I have two parallel goals : Go to a country and experience it (not sit in a resort and come back) and also in the inevitable eventuality that I cannot experience every country in detail, I’d like to spend a night in every country that there is (not to tell others) because of the fact that I like goals and somehow money doesn’t give me a kick and I need something else and so to tell myself I worked on something diligently to finish it.

  3. 3 Suzahn E. June 19, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    Hi! It’s Suzahn! Love this entry, the dr seuss image is brilliant.

    Having a concise narrative…interesting idea. When I hear that I often want to hear more about what my framework does not permit, what cannot be integrated in my narrative, and the qualifiers that keep those details out. What am I excluding from myself? For me, a lot of truth can lie in the way I constructed my narrative rather than the finished content…but this exercise is most easily done in hindsight I guess.

    Also, it’s funny how the idea of finding THE turning point scares me…it gives me a sense of a forthcoming denouement, the post-climactic anxiety that there is an end to what I’m doing. In a sense, I can identify my turning points, but I can’t identify with them.

    Best of the best to you, and keep the entries coming!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 794 other followers

rogue flickr

D.C. Cherry Blossoms

D.C. Cherry Blossoms

D.C. Cherry Blossoms

More Photos

rogue tweets

About Kara Newhouse

http://en.gravatar.com/rogueanthropologist#pic-1


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 794 other followers

